View Chapters

Book: The 5-Minute Linguist

Chapter: 64. Can a Threatened Language be Saved?

DOI: 10.1558/equinox.38186

Blurb:

Languages of the world vary in their vitality. Communities with threatened, endangered, and sleeping languages envision and cultivate meaningful contemporary contexts and strategies for using their languages.

Chapter Contributors

  • Tracy Hirata-Edds (tracy@ku.edu - thirata) 'University of Kansas'
  • Mary Linn (Crosstimbers342@gmail.com - mlinn) 'Smithsonian Museum'
  • Marcellino Berardo (mberardo@ku.edu - mberardo) 'University of Kansas'
  • Lizette Peter (lpeter@ku.edu - lpeter) 'University of Kansas'
  • Gloria Sly (gloria.sly@sbcglobal.net - gsly) 'Independent scholar'
  • Tracy Williams (twilliam@oneidanation.org - tracywilliams) 'Oneida Language Department '