View Chapters

Book: The Satipaṭṭhānasutta

Chapter: Contemplation of the Mind (cittānupassanā)

DOI: 10.1558/equinox.44665


Chapter 4 is about the contemplation of the mind (citta) with a treatment of the concept of mind in Buddhism, the links to perception, thought and different mental states. The various Pāḷi words for the mind or consciousness are examined (i.e., citta, viññāṇa, mano) and their specific meanings discussed. What follows is the presentation of the sixteen different types of mind which, according to the sutta, the practitioner should contemplate on, focusing especially on those that arise with (or without) the three main roots of suffering, namely, desire, aversion and delusion.

Chapter Contributors